Remember the Ladies!

December 29, 2010 at 1:52 pm (people, portraits and paintings, research) (, , , , , , , , , )


Although my interest lies in the letters of ABIGAIL ADAMS during her stays abroad (England, France), when I heard that Vermont Public Radio had Joseph Ellis‘ talk about the family Correspondence, I just had to link to the page and encourage readers to give it a listen!

The actual letters (and much more) are to be found at The Massachusetts Historical Society.

I found this poster when preparing my talk “Austen/Adams” — it’s rather crude, like so many Austen images, that I rather “like” it.

I must say, since it had been years since I read Abigail’s letters: There is much to be learned about England at the time she travelled there and what life was like for Jane Austen. No one notices things like an astute woman; and Mrs Adams wrote so well of her impressions.

1 Comment

  1. How do I love thee: The Browning Letters « Two Teens in the Time of Austen said,

    [...] the correspondence of Abigail Adams [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

