Cause for Celebration

July 4, 2010 at 9:07 pm (research) (, , , , , )


Craig from Australia alerted me to the sale of this book on eBay — one (from the signature) once in the library of Charles Cunliffe Smith, the son of Mary and Charles Smith of Suttons!

Craig has given me a couple reasons to smile this week, including the following story (reprinted with his kind permission):

“I will explain what happened after you passed on that other email in February. 
 
My grandfather used to tell us stories about how his cousin had come to Melbourne and stayed with he and his family in the 1930s. He would tell us she was a dancer with the Russian ballet. We used to roll our eyes a bit and think it was like one of grandpa’s stories that was being made up as it went along. 
 
I nearly fell off my chair when the woman who sent the email asked if any of my family had met her aunt when she was in Australia dancing with the Russian ballet. So it all made sense.
 
When my grandfather’s great grandfather died in the 1880s all the documents etc ended up being passed down to he and his brothers, and all the photos passed to this woman’s grandmother. Before my grandfather died he gave me all the papers he had relating to our family. It used to be difficult trying to find a lot of information before the internet, but it is a lot easier these days. So I have just been plodding along with this on my own for the past 12 years.
 
The woman who sent the email (and is actually my cousin) and I copied and exchanged everything we both had. So now I have scans of the early family photos from the 1850s through to the 1890s, and she now has copies of all the documents from the 1500s through to 1900.”
What a heartwarming story — for a couple reasons. One, of course, is the reuniting of a “family archive”; how I’d love to be able to do that with the Smiths and Goslings! And Two has got to be a cheer for the power of the internet: I’ve “met” so many terrific people, with such varied interests, who have given advice, help, and friendship. Indeed some great reasons for celebrations, on this 4th of July, 2010
Leave a Reply

