Georgian Gentleman – Journals & Jottings

January 13, 2012 at 6:15 pm (books, diaries, history, london's landscape, people) (, , , , , , , , )


Another “find”, thanks to Sabine: Kleidungum1800 had notice of an interesting blog entitled Georgian Gentleman. Who could resist the call??

And what a found was an English gentleman, retired lawyer Mike Rendell, who had a book come out last year (27 Jan 2011) about his ancestor: The Journal of a Georgian Gentleman: The Life and Times of Richard Hall, 1739-1801 (Book Guild Publishing).

{NB: January 27 — Mozart’s birthday, and, this year, the day my friend Calista and I arrive at Hyde Park for an Emma weekend}

Mike Rendell describes Richard Hall as a “sometimes pious Baptist silk hosier who kept shop at one end or other of the old London Bridge”.

[2017 – some dead links, I’m afraid; will see if samples, silhouettes & facsimiles can be re-linked]

4 Comments

  1. Charlotte Frost said,

    I’d had my eye on Mike’s book for some time, and just before Christmas I succumbed to temptation and treated myself to a copy. It’s a beautifully produced book, well illustrated, and crammed with details of Georgian life.

    • Janeite Kelly said,

      I must confess: I thought it was coming out this January 27th when I first began to write this post! I, too, now think it a book that’s been on my list (there are so many…). Right now I’m awaiting the arrival of the Weekes letters; thanks for talking about that one, Charlotte. I don’t think I would have bothered just from the title (and seeming obscurity).

      Your book chat on “Fly High!” seemed to generate some genuine interest in “Sir William Knighton”. I hope you’re pleased.

      k

  2. thegeorgiangentlemanMike Rendll said,

    Can I say, as the authior, how touched I have been at people’s comments about the book. It was huge fun writing it – and following it up with a blog on everyday life in Georgian England – and I am thrilled to hear that others gain enjoyment from it as well. Thanks.And if you buy a copy, reflect on this: you have acquired a book of some rarity because this one is never going to make the best sellers lists!
    Mike

    • Janeite Kelly said,

      Hi, Mike — hope your trip goes well.

      I must just say, you need to “think big”! If not a “bestseller”, how about a “movie deal”!?!

      k

Leave a Reply

