Say it ain’t so: Nicholas Hoare Bookstore

September 15, 2012 at 8:44 am (books, entertainment, news, travel) (, , , , , , , , , )


With an expired passport and no “enhanced” driver’s license, I’ve been unable to cross the US-Canada border for some time. Why, you might ask, don’t I just get the documents I need? Well, my mother’s older – never walked well; does worse now – she used to come with me. I always visited Marks & Spencer – if for nothing else, some tea and buscuits! That’s long closed. Used to attend a few productions of l’Opera de Montreal; but tickets grew more expensive as the CN$ came on par with the US$. You see my dilemma? All my favorite reasons for travelling north have slowly disappeared.

One thing along remained: the presence in Westmount of Nicholas Hoare Books. Here in Vermont we see Nicholas Hoare himself on our local PBS station. He sponsors some of their British offerings. So without visiting Montreal (and once CBC radio’s frequency got taken locally=no radio; and I got rid of cable=no CBC-TV), I never knew what had been going on behind the scenes: closure of their Ottawa branch, and the Montreal branch in danger!

Looking for their latest Random Notes, I clicked on “Blog” and there in three brief entries is much of the story. You can read their history yourself.

They are forging ahead as a sponsor of Vermont Public Television’s Downton Abbey (series 3) airings in 2013. I urge all British booklovers – in and around Montreal: Help keep Nicholas Hoare in Westmount!

*

Some backstory:

Leave a Reply

