At Crossroads: J.K. Rowling and Writing

November 13, 2013 at 10:51 pm (research) (, , , )


JAustenA bit of a personal digression tonight.

And a confession.

For years I’ve sought what would bring me the elusive … Satisfaction.

I’ve chased job ads, gotten interviews, and put up with rejection that was closer to indifference than a genuine “thank you for your interest”. With too few jobs, and too many applicants, employers have grown callous in their treatment of seekers like me.

I’ve felt at a genuine crossroads. Why? An interview where silence was their only response. Guess I didn’t get that job!

One can never raise the subject of ageism, but it stares me in the face just reviewing the ads: “3 to 5 years experience” crops up again and again. Finally dropping this futile search has actually lightened the load – a few monkeys jumped off my back that day.

Balancing the sobering realization that I will never get another job is the burgeoning idea that I should concentrate on what I LOVED: My research into the history of Mary and Emma, their family, their times.

With few to talk to other than you, I confess that it was a welcome validation to find tonight a 2008 commencement address given by J.K. Rowling (yes, of Harry Potter fame!). The sentences that spoke to me:

“I stopped pretending to myself that I was anything other than what I was, and began to direct all my energy into finishing the only work that mattered to me.  Had I really succeeded at anything else, I might never have found the determination to succeed in the one arena I believed I truly belonged.  I was set free…”

When it feels like you stand alone – having the courage to go on, and finding the determination to walk the path that feels right is not easy. Embracing that is the one thing that allows me to free myself.

4 Comments

  1. Charlotte Frost said,

    Go for it Kelly!!!

  2. Asera (@reflectionasera) said,

    I feel very much the same way too! Don’t give up~

    PS: I’ve found James Edward’s memoir written by his daughter Mary Augusta through a store selling antique books :D Very expensive though

    • Janeite Kelly said,

      Thanks SO much for taking the time to reply. I cannot express how wonderful it was to read your comments!

      k

Leave a Reply

