Merry Christmas Wishes

December 24, 2013 at 4:07 pm (diaries, entertainment) (, , , , , )


Just HAD to share some choice *nuggets* from the pen of Oscar Wilde, thanks to The Importance of Being Earnest.

miss fairfaxThe Hon. Gwendolen Fairfax: “I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read on a train.”

*

Miss Prism: “You must put away your diary, Cecily.  I really don’t see why you should keep a diary at all.”
Miss Cecily Cardew: “I keep a diary in order to enter the wonderful secrets of my life. If I didn’t write them down, I should probably forget all about them”

*

miss cardewMiss Cecily Cardew:  “I think your frankness does you great credit, Ernest.  If you will allow me, I will copy your remarks into my diary.”  [Goes over to table and begins writing in diary.]
Mr. Algernon Moncreiff: “Do you really keep a diary?  I’d give anything to look at it.  May I?”
Miss Cecily Cardew:  “Oh no.”  [Puts her hand over it.]  “You see, it is simply a very young girl’s record of her own thoughts and impressions, and consequently meant for publication.  When it appears in volume form I hope you will order a copy.”

Watch the 1952 film, with
Joan Greenwood & Dorothy Tutin

two diaries

Best Wishes!

KM

Leave a Reply

